Klingon Imperial Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
12 13, 2017, 01:37: AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
The boards are having problems with email. We are advising members to set your secret questions and answers in case the board can't send email to let you reset lost passwords.
11894 Posts in 1664 Topics by 689 Members
Latest Member: regdun234
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Klingon Imperial Forums
|-+  Klingon Language & Culture
| |-+  Klingon Language
| | |-+  Requests for Translations
| | | |-+  "Crusade/Campaign/Jihad"
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: "Crusade/Campaign/Jihad"  (Read 1407 times)
Kuragh
Newcomer

« on: 12 16, 2014, 10:09: AM »

Hello!

I am a fan-fiction writer working on a story about a civil war within the empire. I was wondering if there exists a Klingon word for the concept of a crusade, a noble quest to somewhere distant that requires a lot of effort to get to. I would assume that it originated in the early days of Klingon space exploration - I envision all of the Great Houses building carrier ships and loading their best warriors onto them for a long voyage to some distant star system that they want to conquer.

Any help that you can offer would be much appreciated.
De'vID
Senior Courier

« Reply #1 on: 12 16, 2014, 10:32: AM »

In Klingon for the Galactic Traveler, around p.48, it talks about the language used to describe missions. The word for a mission is Qu', and missions usually have names like targh Qu' "Operation Targ". I'd suggest getting that book and reading that section for background for your story.