Klingon Imperial Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
10 31, 2014, 03:55: AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Realtime chats are now following a freeform schedule.  If you would like to chat with you fellows please see the It's Talk Time thread for more info or to schedule a chat.
11641 Posts in 1600 Topics by 664 Members
Latest Member: johnclo
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  Klingon Imperial Forums
|-+  Klingon Language & Culture
| |-+  Klingon Language
| | |-+  Requests for Translations
| | | |-+  Dog Training Commands in Klingon
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Dog Training Commands in Klingon  (Read 9201 times)
johnwade
Newcomer

« on: 01 28, 2011, 05:08: PM »

Hi,

I train dogs for a living and just started a new dog for my own use. He will be trained primarily in scent work but will be learning advanced obedience, some bite work, tracking etc. I would like to explore the possibility of using the Klingon language equivalent to traditional commands. Is the correct place to ask for assistance for this sort of thing?

john
chalvatlh
Klingon formerly Known as Fraek
Discoursing Diplomat

In order to succeed, you must enjoy eating poison!

« Reply #1 on: 01 29, 2011, 08:09: AM »

When addressing pets, Klingons use what's called "Clipped Klingon", an abbreviated form of the language.  For instance, "Sit!" becomes simply ba'!, rather than yIba'!.

From "Power Klingon":

SuH. - Ready. (This signifies that the master is about to issue a command)
ba'! - Sit! (normally, yIba'!)
Qam! - Stand! (normally, yIQam!)
naDev ghoS! - Come here! (normally, naDev yIghoS!)
Sop! - Eat! (normally, yISop!)
Sop 'e' mev! - Stop eating! (normally, bISop 'e' yImev!)
HIv! - Attack! (normally, yIHIv!)
'uSDaj chop chev! - Bite his/her/its leg off! (normally, 'uSDaj yIchop yIchev!
DeSvetlh yIv! - Chew that arm! (normally, DeSvetlh yIyIv!)